Recipients of IEEE/ NPSS Merit Award

1972 - William A. Higinbotham, Brookhaven National Laboratory

In recognition of his professional leadership in nuclear science and instrumentation and the quality and excellence of his technical contributions

1973 - Richard F. Shea, Consultant

In recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of nuclear science

1974 - George A. Morton, RCA (retired)

For outstanding contributions towards the advancement of scintillation counting

1975 - Louis Costrell, National Bureau of Standards

For outstanding contributions to the development and standardization of nuclear instruments

1976 - **John P. Blewett,** Brookhaven National Laboratory

1977 - **John A. Martin,** Oak Ridge National Laboratory

For outstanding contributions to the field of particle accelerator science and in particular sector focussed cyclotrons

1978 - J. Leon Shohet, University of Wisconsin

For outstanding and innovative contributions to plasma science and, in particular, stellarator research

1983 - Veljko Radeka, Brookhaven National Laboratory

For contributions to the basic understanding of the effects of noise in nuclear electronics, and for the development of position sensitive detectors for applications including high energy physics

1983 - **Fred S. Goulding,** Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory

For contributions to nuclear electronics, especially the development and applications of low-noise x-ray detectors, and for inspiration and leadership of a group that has contributed widely to nuclear radiation detection

1984 - Fred A. Kirsten, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory

For contributions in the fields of nuclear instrumentation and data acquisition systems, for international leadership in developing and implementing instrumentation standards, and for dedicated service to the Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society

1985 - **Robert Mills, Princeton University**

For thirty years pioneering leadership in fusion engineering and his lasting contributions of inspiring excellence in his colleagues and teaching the basis of this new field to leaders of the future

1986 - George C. Messenger, Consultant

For contributions to the determination of radiation damage to semiconductors and advances in semiconductor technology

1987 - **Noah Hershkowitz**, University of Wisconsin

For pioneering contributions to basic plasma science, plasma diagnostics and RF heating and stabilization of mirror-confined plasmas

1988 - Emilio Gatti, Polytechnic Institute

For contributions to the theory and practice of nuclear particle detectors and signal processing methods

1988 - Victor A.J. VanLint, Mission Research Corporation

For contributions to the understanding of radiation and electromagnetic effects on electronics relevant to military and space systems hardening

1989 - Edward Fairstein, Consultant

For contributions to the technology of linear pulse amplification and to the measurement of ionizing radiation

1990 - Hans Fleischmann, Cornell University

For pioneering and extensive contributions to the generation, physics, and technology of field-reversing electronic and ion rings

1990 - **Jorge Llacer**, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory

For contributions to the development of semiconductor radiation detectors and to the understanding of statistically based image reconstruction algorithms in nuclear medical imaging

1991 - Magne Kristiansen, Texas Tech University

For outstanding contributions to pulsed power technology and the development of programs of research, education, and information exchange

1992 - **Stephen E. Derenzo**, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory

For contributions to photon detector and emission tomography instrumentation, including discovery of new scintillators, high resolution PET, and dynamic PET and for outstanding innovations in and contributions to the technical and scientific communications

1993 - **Akira Hirose**, University of Saskatchewan

For pioneering contributions to the understanding of linear waves, instabilities, and turbulent heating in plasmas and confinement studies of tokamaks

1994 - Ronald M. Sundelin, CEBAF

For contributions to the scientific understanding and technological development of superconducting radio-frequency technology for GeV-scale application, including cavity and peripheral systems performance and production techniques

1996 - Glenn F. Knoll, University of Michigan

For outstanding contributions to education in the field of radiation detection instrumentation

1997 - Andrew Ng, University of British Columbia

For contributions to the understanding of strongly coupled plasmas through studies of high density shock states and femtosecond laser heated solids

1998 - **John Conrad,** University of Wisconsin at Madison

For his invention and leadership in the development of plasma source ion implantation

1999 - Erik Heijne, CERN

For vision and leadership in applying silicon technologies to the development of new and important detector systems for high energy physics

2000 - Marek Moszynski, Soltan Institute for Nuclear Studies

For outstanding contributions to the modern scintillation detector and its applications in physics experiments, medicine, and other fields of use

2001 - **Stephen E. Holland,** Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

For pioneering work in the development of high-performance silicon detectors for medical imaging, astronomy, and high-energy physics and the development of new technologies for optical, X-ray, and gamma-ray instrumentation

2002 - **Jan S. Iwanczyk**, Photon Imaging, Inc.

For outstanding contributions to development of compound semiconductor detectors, silicon detectors, imaging systems, and their applications in physics experiments, medicine and other fields of use

2003 - **Joseph R. Srour,** The Aerospace Corporation

For outstanding technical contributions to the field of radiation effects, and for leadership and service to the IEEE

2004 - **Kenneth R. Prestwich,** Sandia National Laboratory

For contributions to advance pulsed power technology of high peak power accelerators and to contributions in forming and organizing the NPSS Pulsed Power Science and Technology Committee

2005 - Peter S. Winokur, National Security Administration

For contributions to the development of radiation hardened microelectronics and radiation hardness assurance tests

2006 - Charles L. Melcher, University of Tennessee

For research on scintillation materials

2007 - Paul K. Chu, City University of Hong Kong

For contributions to the understanding, development, and applications of plasma-based surface modification and thin film deposition technologies